Quotes from Lilith’s Brood

Book: Lilith’s Brood trilogy, by Octavia Butler

This excellent science fiction trilogy (Dawn, Adulthood Rites, and Imago) by Octavia Butler is an engrossing, often unsettling exploration of what it means to be human, touching on fear, survival, genetics, race, and gender, among other things.

From Dawn:

“‘Intelligence does enable you to deny facts you dislike. But your denial doesn’t matter. A cancer growing in someone’s body will go on growing in spite of denial.'”

From Adulthood Rites:

“‘Human beings fear difference. […] Humans persecute their different ones, yet they need them to give themselves definition and status.'”

From Imago:

“Humans said one thing with their bodies and another with their mouths and everyone had to spend time and energy figuring out what they really meant. And once we did understand them, the Humans got angry and acted as though we had stolen thoughts from their minds.”